About the RDN

    What is a Regional District?

      Regional Districts are federations of municipalities and electoral areas

      They act in response to expressed needs, desires and instructions of their members

      The Board serves as a forum in which these needs, desires and instructions are expressed and explored by member communities

      Regional Districts take action largely through services

      Local government services in electoral areas

      Inter-jurisdictional (sub-regional) services to combinations of municipalities and electoral areas

      Regional services to address regional needs

      Regional Districts evolve over time to meet the changing needs in and of each region

    Who is the RDN?

    As a local government, the RDN is a regional federation of four municipalities and seven electoral areas, with an estimated population of approximately 160,000 (2017). The four municipalities are: the City of Nanaimo, the City of Parksville, the Town of Qualicum Beach, and the District of Lantzville. The electoral areas are as follows:

    Electoral Area A: Cedar, South Wellington, Yellowpoint, Cassidy

    Electoral Area B: Gabriola, Decourcy, Mudge Islands

    Electoral Area C: Extension, Nanaimo Lakes, East Wellington, Pleasant Valley

    Electoral Area E: Nanoose Bay

    Electoral Area F: Coombs, Hilliers, Errington, Whiskey Creek, Meadowood

    Electoral Area G: French Creek, San Pareil, Little Qualicum

    Electoral Area H: Bowser, Qualicum Bay, Deep Bay

    Want to know which electoral area or municipality you live in within the RDN?

    Click here to visit our latest mapping tool, type in your address and determine where you live within the RDN.

    What to know what services your area or municipality receive?

    Check out our RDN Budget Talks Budget Documents,  the 2019 RDN Budget and Property Tax Summaries are you which shows the services you receive, where the money comes from and where it goes.

    Who is on the current RDN Board of Directors?

    The Regional District is governed by a Board of 19 Directors. There are eight members on the Board representing the City of Nanaimo, two members representing the City of Parksville, one member each for the Town of Qualicum Beach and the District of Lantzville, and one for each of the RDN's seven Electoral Areas. 

    To find out who is on the Board of Directors and their contact info click here

About Strategic Planning